top of page

Utility/Rental Assistance

St. Vincent de Paul Society

(812) 279-8555

*This organization provides help with utilities and rent. The telephone number is an answering service; please leave a voice message. 



(812) 279-4442

*This organization provides help with utilities, rent, and food. They are only open on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, 10am-11:30am and 1pm-3:30pm. They require proof that you live in Lawrence County as well as photo ID.



Lawrence County Township Trustees

The county township trustees can provide assistance with utility bills for eligible individuals in their respective townships. Assistance is on a case-by-case basis and requires supporting documentation (i.e., an application, photo ID, proof of residency, proof of income, utility bill, and check stubs).  

Bono Township

Michelle Porter
1296 Noe Road
Orleans, IN 47452
(812) 583-2345


Guthrie Township

Stacie Ratliff
2728 Fort Ritner Road
Bedford, IN 47421

(812) 675-3114


Indian Creek Township

Gary Scherschel
461 Coxton Road
Bedford, IN 47421

(812) 276-3135


Marion Township

Gina Sullivan

903 W Main Street

Mitchell, IN  47446

(812) 849-4254

(812) 620-3674 (Cell)


Marshall Township

Jan Kirk

P O Box 275

Avoca, IN 47420

(812) 278-6975


Perry Township

Carla Hettle

P O Box 57

Springville, IN 47462

(812) 583-4372


Pleasant Run

Michael Nicholson
4561 Bartlettsville Road
Bedford, IN 47421
(812) 834-6813


Shawswick Township

Millard Jones
164 Murdock Station Road
Bedford, IN 47421
(812) 275-2511

Spice Valley Township

Michelle Cornett
407 Ridge Road
Williams, IN 47470

(812) 276-2176


bottom of page